What do you mean by improvement capability?

capability

As part of my PhD, I have been investigating how improvement capability is conceptualised in the research literature and by regulatory agencies in healthcare.

As a improvement leader, I realise now, that I used to use this term rather imprecisely, ‘my job is to develop improvement capability’ and so on, yet I’m not sure I really thought about what I meant when I said it.  I perhaps assumed, that everyone I talked to and I had the same view of what it was and what developing improvement capability meant.

Attached in this link http://q.health.org.uk/news-story/developing-improvement-capability/ is a blog on the Q Community website, detailed an element of my research trying to tease out what is meant by improvement capability and what different conceptualisations of improvement capability mean pragmatically for improvement leaders.

About joyfurnival

Interested in TQM, lean, Quality Improvement, Healthcare, Regulation, Accreditation, Inspection Improvement Science, QI, improvement capability.
This entry was posted in Improvement, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

