“WE NEED MORE STAFF….” – My action for NHS Change Day

Lynton Lane

When I was in theatre last week for minor surgery, the clinical staff went through the theatre checklist with ease. They must have done this thousands of times before, but I felt so reassured by that safety check as a patient. They made me feel relaxed. They talked to me and calmed my anxiety. Talk soon turned to what I did for a job; ‘I work for NHS Improving Quality’ which was met with a loud response – “Did you say ‘quality?’ – well, we need more staff!” I didn’t have a chance to reply, as a few seconds later, I was out for the count!

Days later “we need more staff” was ringing in my ears. I thought of how many times I’d heard those words and probably said them myself. Starting when working 12 hours shifts as a nurse more than thirty years ago, on the mental health wards where…

View original post 1,150 more words

About joyfurnival

Interested in TQM, lean, Quality Improvement, Healthcare, Regulation, Accreditation, Inspection Improvement Science, QI, improvement capability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

